windows server 2012 cals

I have a full retail version of windows server 2012 this came with 5 cals (either user or device)

my question is:

I have seen advertised OEM cals - are there OEM and retail cals? and do I have to purchase retail cals because I have a retail version of server or can I just buy the OEM cals

any help would be appreciated I am new to this - and apologies in advance if I am posting in the wrong place

regards

dave mathieson

September 5th, 2013 7:54am

Hi,

OEM licenses, Retail licenses for Windows Vista, 7 and so on, represent the right to use respective operating system. CAL is the right to make authenticated connection to server(s) on your network.

1. Original equipment manufacturer (OEM) licenses are different from Volume Licensing and retail license rights. With a license purchased with a server from an OEM, the Windows Server license is already assigned to that specific server, and lives and dies with that server.

It's also important to note that OEM license do not entitle you to support from Microsoft, you need to go to the manufacturer where you purchased the license from.

1. Retail license can be moved from one device to another.
  2. CAL is a Client Access License. This type of license grants one network user or device permission to access a network service (such as a SQL or Exchange Server). There are also different types of CALs for each service.

For more detailed information about CAL, please refer to this article:

Client Access Licenses and Management Licenses:

http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/about-licensing/client-access-license.aspx

For detailed information, please refer to this article:

Your Comprehensive Resource for Licensing and Pricing

To get more helps about the license, please contact the Microsoft Volume Licensing:

http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/

I hope this helps.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 6th, 2013 2:43am