windows server 2008 SBS Console.
I have been working with windows servers since about 2001. I have always used the MMC to manage my domains and active directory and dcpromo from the run line to set up my domain controller. This has never caused a problem for me. I just set up a new server 2008 standard for a client that I manage, The office manager is dead set on using the SBS console to manage the user accounts. Why is it that the 30 users i created in MMC do not show up in the user group containers in the SBS console, and why is the Console telling me that my server was not promoted to domain controller when it was, still is, AD is running user accounts are authenticating, dhcp and dns are running all the shares are working, every thing is fine other than the fact that the office manager cant use the console to see the accounts I have already made. Do I need to take this thing down and rebuild it using the "hand holding wizards" in order for the console to work correctly?
January 18th, 2011 4:31pm

Hello, to get you correct, you have installed the server and added it as additional DC in the existing SBS domain? Or did you install the new server just with the same domain name as the SBS server, which OS is used on the SBS machine?Best regards Meinolf Weber Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees , and confers no rights.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
January 18th, 2011 4:41pm

This is a replacement server. I set the server up as a new server in a new domain. I used dcpromo from the run line like I always have. Once I set up the domain and active direcotry I went into mmc and set up my user accounts. Now when you log into the console it says there are no users and the server has not been set up as a dc.
January 18th, 2011 5:13pm

When I open the MMC and expand the domain controlers tree it show the server as the DC and the Global catalog server. Every thing is working fine other than the console.