windows 2000 mirror recovery
Greetings all, I'm rather new to windows software mirroring. I have successfully created a mirror in a test environment with 2 20gb IDE drives. i am trying to recover from a mock drive failure, and am not having any luck. I have created a boot disk by formating the drive and copying the current ntldr, boot.ini, netdetect.com files over to it and trying to boot too it with only one drive attached. It gives me an error msg about hardware and boot drive problems. both drives are fine. I made sure that they were good before i started. Both drives are on the samechannelon the motherboard and set to cable select. Any suggestions or is there a step by step article on how to correct this problem. Currently if the main drive failes i cannot boot the machine from the mirrored drive. I've tried to understand some of theMicrosoftarticles but they seem to be vague. any help would be appreciated. thanks Brian
March 10th, 2009 7:29pm