user added to domain admin global group has not the same rights as 'the' domain administrator....?
Hi, I added a new server 2008R2 to our domain to be used as fileserver. But i noticed something strange. Working as 'the' domain administrator I can do everything (settings, access to folders etc) but normally I work as a domain user that is member of the domain admin group but for some reason this user has not the same rights. I even added the domain user to the local admin group but this makes no difference With this 'second' domain admin I cannot access files, I cannot change settings etc Can somebody point me in the right direction where to look for? Policies??? I have this problem only on this server, not on other Win2008R2-servers allready in the domain. Thanks Daniel
February 22nd, 2011 6:44am

Hi, Please logon the problematic user, open CMD and run the following command to verify the group memberships. net user username /domain If this user belongs to local administrators and domain admins, check if you can view the Effective Permissions: View effective permissions on files and folders http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc758822(WS.10).aspx Meanwhile, I suggest you create a new user, add to the domain admins group and logon the file server for a test. Regards, BruceThis posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" on the post that helps you, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 23rd, 2011 7:07am