remote access using VPN
Hi,I'm new with windows server and I'm sure my question will be a very easy one for you to answer.I have 2 stores, My windows server 2008 is install on a machine into the store1. My store2 is able to see all the computer, printers in my store1 using a VPN acces on my Linksys router.Store1 is having : 192.168.1.xxx, Store2 is having 192.168.10.xxx (everything is working perfectly)All computers from store1 is able to access the windows serverI'm not able to see the server from store2, Do I have to add somewhere into windows server 192.168.10.1 to make store2 local on the machine?Thanks,Jonathan
August 29th, 2008 2:56am

Hi! One quick solutionmight be modifying the hosts file. In 2003, the file is located at "c:\windows\system32drivers\etc" but you could just use search and type "hosts". The file looks like this (i added the needed IP for example): # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.## This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.## This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one# space.## Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.## For example:## 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host 127.0.0.1 localhost192.168.1.xxx store1Henry Eklf :: Just one random IT-guy more.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 29th, 2008 8:39am