nic teaming newbie
I'm new to nic teaming- thus forgive basic questions. Server is windows 2003 server, acting as basic file/print server on network. the server has nic #1 with ip 192.168.1.3- this is the nic that's been in use.the other nic has been disabled. the two nics are intel pro100VT and intel pro 1000 CT. My two questions- if I bridge these two nics, will I gain thruput, even though they're different models? Secondly,since everything on the network is looking for the server at 192.168.1.3, can I set the new bridged virtual nic to that ip and expect things to work as before(provided I also change the current 192.168.1.3 nic to another static ip)? I already tried temporarily creating the bridge so I know the capability is there, but I then deleted it since I was unsure how to configure it correctly. In the interest of complete reporting, this is an NT network, not active directory (don't ask...) That issue will be fixed soon with a new server, but I'd like to try teaming now if it will help thruput.
January 6th, 2010 4:35pm

My advice is stick with one IP on the gigabit NIC and the other disabled.Bill
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
January 7th, 2010 2:06am