kindly help me with complete steps I am new to PowerShell or scripting
I am looking script to capture dns server ip address preferred and alternative DNS servers. scanrio is I have list of server list or csv format so how to capture dns ip address details (preferred and alternative DNS servers) . it requires to administrative rights on all servers? or only administrative rights on single server so I can ran script kindly help me with complete steps I am new to PowerShell or scripting
August 29th, 2015 1:18am

Sorry we do not do that here. We can answer questions about scripting but you must learn how to write a script on your own.

Start here: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/dd793612.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

You can find pre-written scripts here: https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/ScriptCenter/

You must be an admin on all servers or you must log in local (at the console) of all servers.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 29th, 2015 2:43am

I am not clear please be specific "You must be an admin on all servers or you must log in local (at the console) of all servers"

August 29th, 2015 12:06pm

I tried below script but it is t capturing advanced TCP/ip settings all list of DNS server address . it possaible to capture only preferred and alternative DNS server again how to change preferred and alternative DNS server via script I am for that script also

Get-Content .\servers.txt | `
ForEach-Object {
  Get-WMIObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -Computername $_ | `
  Where-Object {$_.IPEnabled -match "True"} | `
  Select-Object -property DNSHostName,@{N="DNSServerSearchOrder";
                                    E={"$($_.DNSServerSearchOrder)"}},
                                    @{N='IPAddress';E={$_.IPAddress}}
} | Export-CSV -path servers.csv -NoTypeInformation

August 29th, 2015 1:25pm

Order is order.  It is what you have in the results: