individual row loop is looping too much :/

hi guys,

im trying to loop through a table and call my function for each row. realise that this isn't the best use of sql functionality, but im still learning :D

the loop does work but calls the function, But, for each row it returns all the rows - before getting the next row id value :/

this is my code below

thanks

dan

declare @rowmin nchar(5)

select @rowmin = min(customerid)

from customers c

while exists

(select top 1 customerid

from customers c
where c.customerid > @rowmin)

begin

--proc here 

select dbo.moretotalorders(@rowmin) as 'total orders', @rowmin

from customers

--increment row var

select top 1 @rowmin = min(customerid) 

from customers c

where customerid > @rowmin

end

August 29th, 2015 7:20am

Typically cursor is used to process each row in a table.

Note though, that set based operation is the preferred way.

Cursor example: http://www.sqlusa.com/bestpractices2005/runningtotalusingcursor/

DECLARE CURSOR: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms180169.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 29th, 2015 8:00am

thanks for the quick reply Kalman

I shall check out both of those solutions

cheers

dan

August 29th, 2015 8:10am

awesome! worked first time :D

that was using cursor - will also checkout the better way to do it

thanks

August 29th, 2015 8:27am

>> I am trying to loop through a table and call my function for each row. I realize that this isn't the best use of SQL functionality, but I am still learning. <<