how to turn select aggregate function statement into a variable?

Hello, I tend to learn from example and am used to powershell. If for instance in powershell I wanted to get-something and store it in a variable I could, then use it again in the same code. In this example of a table order items where there are order_num, quantity and item_prices how could I declare ordertotal as a variable then instead of repeating it again at "having sum", instead use the variable in its place? Can someone help show me an example of such a use of a variable that still lets me select the order_num, ordertotal and group them etc? I had hoped to simply replace in the "having section" the agg function with "ordertotal" which bombs out.

Thanks for the coaching! :)  I am studying a "sql 2005 in 10min" book and practicing in sql express 2014. This is for my own learning so no rush thanks!

select order_num, sum(quantity*item_price) as ordertotal
from orderitems
group by order_num
having sum(quantity*item_price) >=50
order by ordertotal;

• Edited by xxjergerxx Tuesday, May 26, 2015 2:50 AM
May 26th, 2015 2:48am

celko: thanks for feedback, I tried several variations and kept receiving errors that ordertotal was invalid or that there were not enough columns.

Eralper, its kind of what I was learning a couple days ago. In this case its stored in a temporary table or is this a permanent table? One odd thing is it keeps rounding up, I tried decimal. Any explanation?

results

20006 55
20008 125
20005 150
20007 1000

it should be:

20006 55.00
20008 125.00
20005 149.87
20007 1000.00

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
May 26th, 2015 8:44pm

this helped fix the decimals, any advise on how to make it dynamic without (10,2)? Or is that the common principal with variables in sql? Its odd that the select without this method without using a variable just displays the result. 

declare @t as table (
order_num decimal (10,2),
ordertotal decimal (10,2)
)

insert into @t