access denied error from eventcreate command
I am attempting to use the eventcreate command. It works successfully as long as I do not specify the /so parameter. When I do attempt to specify the /so parameter, I receive an "ERROR: Access is denied" error. I am an administrator on the system. The system is running Win 2003 R2 Std Edition with Service Pack 2. The version of eventcreate is 5.2.3790.3959.I have tried it on several different similar systems with similar results. However, on my desktop system that is running XP, it works just fine.I done a number of searches and they do not return anything of value.Any help would be appreciated.
September 17th, 2009 5:08pm

hi ray ,thank you for posting in windows forum ./SO option is used for source, if you have your custom source you can use the command and if you are trying /SO with microsoft app's it wond work. please send us the command to analyzesainath !analyze
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 18th, 2009 5:58am

HiPlease Refer URl :http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb490899.aspxDeva Try hard to get what u like (or) you will be forced to like what u get"
September 18th, 2009 10:06am

Thanks for replying. As I read the documentation, I understood the /so command to allow any string value. Below is a screen shot representing the error received. As you can see, the only difference between the two commands is the addition of the /so parameterWhat I find interesting is that the same command with the /so parameter specified works with XP Pro on the desktop.Microsoft Windows [Version 5.2.3790](C) Copyright 1985-2003 Microsoft Corp. H:\>eventcreate /t information /id 500 /l application /d "test" SUCCESS: An event of type 'information' was created in the 'application' log with 'EventCreate' as the source. H:\>eventcreate /t information /id 500 /l application /d "test" /so somethingERROR: Access is denied. H:\>
September 18th, 2009 10:54am