Windows server 2012 R2 Hyper-V licensing

Hello

I'm a network administrator at a small/medium business and we are currently thinking of virtualize our four servers on two ML350 servers. We have three 2012r2 licenses (think it's standard lisences). Before we decide to do this I have to find out how much it will cost us. However I have some small problems understanding the total cost of having two physical servers running Hyper-V where one of them will be the main host running all the four virtual servers and the other one for failover.

This is how I think it works:

I need to have four 2012r2 standard lisences in order to run all the four virtual servers on both of the physical Hyper-V hosts, then I will also need four server licenses for the four virtual servers running. So a total of 8 server licences. Is this correct? If not, what do I need? 

August 24th, 2015 9:51am

It depends :-)

1. You are licensing hosts only. (There are no licenses for VM! You have virtualization rights.)

2. One license is valid for server with up to two CPU.

3. You can have two VMs or only one VM. If your host supports VM only (Hyper-V role, backup,...), then two VMs are valid. If your host were domain controller, the only one VM is allowed.

4. If you have two physical servers with up two CPU and two standard licenses, then you can have up to 4 VMs.

5. So if you use hosts for any purposes, the you need four licenses and you can install three VMs on every of both hosts.

HTH

Milos

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 24th, 2015 10:12am