Windows Server 2003 requires hard reboot every 2 weeks
Hello, Couldn't seem to find a forum for server 2003, so hopefully this is the right spot. I am relatively new to this client who is reporting that he has to reboot the server roughly every two weeks (usually Wednesday mornings). I've gone through Event logs for the past couple of months. With the exception of an SQL database called BID2WIN that fails quite often, there are little to no errors or warnings in the System or Application logs. I have been watching the memory and processes over the past couple of weeks and have not seen anything out of the ordinary such as memory leaks, high page faults, running low on resources, etc...The exception to this is UltraVNC which had a large number of page faults (10x higher than all other processes), but other fields appear normal. My next best guess is something is running every 2nd week, but have not yet been able to locate what that might be. Scheduled tasks only has entries for SyncBackPro which runs every day, generally without issue. I guess my question is what else should I be doing to try to determine the cause of these crashes? Server Information: Windows Server 2003 (SP2) - Latest updates as of last night Xeon 2GHz / 3.5GB RAM 75% Free space on C / 95% Free on E CPU utilization generally stays under 10% PF usage less than 1GB DHCP/DNS/Acronis True Image/AVG9/AVGM/Few LOB applications SyncBackPro backup runs 3 jobs each day, successful or with exceptions usually Since the server was updated/rebooted last night, the crash that should have happened this morning (keeping in line with the pattern) did not happen. All I can think of right now. Please let me know if more info is required. Thanks, Ben
May 12th, 2010 8:32pm