Windows 7 and Server 2008 R2. Domain issues?
For some reason, I am not able to add my Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit Machine to my Windows Server 2008 R2 machine. I am very new to this, but Active Directory is enabled and I have created a local FTP on the server, and I added Windows 7 Server Management console to the Windows 7 machine. My domain name is xxxxxx.domain, is this too long? I also added the IP config manually to both machines. Both are using the same DNS and Alternative DNS IP. The IP is not controlled by me so much, it is more controlled by the ISP. So I can see both machine on the network, I can PING the server from the Windows 7 machine using the IP and DNS IP. But I cannot add the Domain to the Window 7 machine. I did or I think I did correctly put the Windows 7 machine in the Group Policy. So what am I doing wrong? It shouldn't be this hard. Thanks Ken
September 26th, 2010 8:16pm

Does your 2008 machine also have the DNS role? Basically your DHCP server must hand out static address of AD server as primary DNS server address so clients can find DC. Then put the ISP's DNS addresses in the forward lookup of your DNS server so clients can find internet. Also make sure your server has static IP address outside of DHCP scope. Regards, Dave Patrick .... Microsoft Certified Professional -Microsoft MVP [Windows]
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 26th, 2010 8:34pm

I am not sure I think I but the DNS role in what would the exact name for the role be? As for the Static IP outside of the DHCP scope, isn't that something that the ISP must do? Ken
September 26th, 2010 8:50pm

If you're setting up your own domain then you would typically run your own DHCP server. Do you have some type of broadband/dsl router? Regards, Dave Patrick .... Microsoft Certified Professional -Microsoft MVP [Windows]
September 26th, 2010 9:00pm