Windows 7 PCs on Server 2003. Help a rookie understand please!
Hi There, So I'm having a lot of drama's installing 2 new Windows 7 workstations into a Windows Server 2003 SP2 environment and hope somebody can push me in the right direction. I'll try to summarize the environment and issue, and give some specific questions I have about this process, as I am quite new to it all. At a small school we have 2 Server 2003 SP2 servers, one for curriculum, one for administration which are linked together (in a 'forest'??) The admin office had some old XP machines, which I am replacing with 2 windows 7 pro machines. My process was as follows: - Create a new admin computer in AD ('admin4' for example) - Rename computer to 'admin4' and add to administration domain instead of default workgroup. - Add 'admin4' to dnsmgmt on administration server, assigning IP address Host + Pointer Result: I can login to accounts on the administration domain and access the internet, shared file directories and shared printer on administration domain. PROBLEMS: - I cannot access any accounts or shared printers on the curriculum domain. I am unable to ping the curriculum server or attached printers. - UAC pops up for every action, even though the user is an administrator. I can use the domain administration account to elevate this, but it still pops up each time I have tried using one pc to install RSAT and use a GPO manager to remove UAC, however the results are the UAC prompt does not display, it just errors with varying messages of 'user does not have sufficient privileges.' Also, there are already a couple Windows 7 machines attached to the curriculum network that function correctly, so I feel like I'm just missing a step in this process somewhere maybe... Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I can post more info as people request it. - Im sure this is a stupid question, but, in the DNS management console, under properties->security of a computer. For eg. 'Admin1' will have a listing