Windows 2008 R2 Server failed logon attempts
Hello, I'm a noob on WIndows Server 2008. I've setup a Web Server in the last couple of weeks and things seem ok. However I decided to check the event viewer today and I've noticed 1000's of logon attempts. So what is the best practice to ban these people. I would like to rename the Admin and Guest user id's via local policy. Is there anything else I should be doing ? I've seen a post which mentions moving the port for remote connection via windows firewall. Where can I get a list of free ports ? Would be nice for Microsoft to auto ban IP's which after they try say 10 attempts ? I am dumbfounded that I can see all these messages and my server just sits there and allows it to happen over and over and over ( repeat 10K times ).
March 29th, 2012 7:23pm

I'd ask them here about IIS http://forums.iis.net/ Regards, Dave Patrick .... Microsoft Certified Professional Microsoft MVP [Windows]
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
March 29th, 2012 7:41pm