Windows 2008 Permissions
Hi, I have a copy of Windows 2008 installed. I have added a user to the Administrators group. Unfortunatly that user doesnt seem to havethe "normal" administrative rights.The usercannot access documents & settings, etc. save files and installing software is unsuccessful since theuser doesnt have permissions to the directories needed to store the software data. Also, when I am loggedon as the administrator I dont see documents & settings. Is the normal? I am very very new to Windows Server 2008 and dont really have to much experience in any server at all. I am testing Windows 2008 with different database clients. Installing Oracle for instance. I was able to install the 2008/Vista copy from Oracles website. However when trying to create a tnsnames file as the user, I received a permissions error. I was able to go into the Admin folder within the Oracle directory and add the user to that folder to grant rights and now can save to that location. However there are other files and folders that the user still cannot access.I cannot find to much on permissions that I really understand. Hope this makes sense. It may not. Thanks for any help offered.
July 23rd, 2008 10:34pm