Windows 2008 Firewall - Please patch it so it remains disabled after it
Hi,This isn't a problem or anything technical, this is merely an issue with the design of the Windows 2008 firewall.Can you please Microsoft, patch the damn firewall so it doesn't re-enable itself after certain installations.If I turn something off, aka windows firewall, I do NOT want it re-enabling itself randomly. And I do NOT want to have to keep double checking the firewall options "just in case" it's re-enabled itself. I am not disabling the service, I am merely switching it to "OFF" via the management options. I am also unticking the bind to the LAN card and BOTH re-enable after installations and other seemingly random occassions. I would also like to point out that my reason for not disabling the service is that it's caused me problems in the past with Exch2007sp1 installs...I am NOT a newbie, I've done a significant number of Windows 2008 installs both on physical hardware and VM "hardware" and in every installation at some point or other I've been scratching my head wondering why something isn't working as it should and in EVERY SINGLE OCCASSION it's been due to the bl**dy windows firewall re-enabling itself without asking or even notifying me.I have always been a strong advocate of Microsoft and not party to any of this anti-Microsoft propaganda but sh1t like this really does NOTHING to help Microsoft.Administrators of networks have a hard enough time as it is without Servers changing settings without any notification. This might be some wonderful new security feature but if I want a local firewall running on my server(s) behind one or several corporate firewalls, I am QUITE capable of clicking that satellite button to switch windows firewall on without requiring assistance from the Operating system.I would go so far as to suggest that the setup of Windows 2003 Server was far superior in as much as the firewall service was disabled unless you specifically wanted it. Please can we retur