Why not Windows Server First?
Whether Microsoft uses Linux server to protect himself? I do not think so. Please let me know. Is there anyone who could give me a simple answer! I have seen that many organizations uses Linux Server as the back bone or main purpose behind the database or system. If they use Windows server then it is only for user friendly daily task and custom rules for clients. I have asked the IT Pros. Why? They have replied me that Windows has lack of security. Now my question is, Microsoft is a company providing lot of download world wide (Product base) with their internal and external website uses and their own daily works. They also have huge security issues. Do they use any Linux server? If not then how could Microsoft protect him self while the other IT pros depends on Linux? The question came in my mind, because I am a beginner in IT world (completing my B.Sc in Engineering) and want to be a Network Administrator. Peoples are asking me to learn Linux server first instead of Windows Server 2008 R2, because maximum company uses Linux-Unix based server system in our country (Bangladesh) instead of windows server? They are also suggesting me to learn ubuntu. I have always be familiar with Microsoft product instead of other i.e. >> Windows 95/98/XP/7 instead of Mac or others. I have always used IE 6/7/8 (testing ie 9 beta) instead of Opera/chrome/Mozilla etc, MS office instead of Open Office. Now, why I have force to learn Linux instead of Windows server first? Does their statement true that Windows Server will fail to give the proper security in large and sensitive security system like Bank, Insurance, Share Market, and Telecommunication, etc? Then I won’t wish to spend my time to learn Linux or anything else.Noman Fayez
January 29th, 2011 4:53am