Why as an admin can I not install a .msi package on Windows Server 2008 R2?
I am an Active Directory user that is in the 'Administrators' group on a Windows Server 2008 R2 server we have. When I attempt to install any setup packages I deploy to the server that are .msi packages, I receive the following error: "You do not have sufficient privileges to complete the installation for all users of the machine. Log on as administrator and then retry the installation." The thing is I am an Administrator. Is the 'local' administrator account the only account allowed to install .msi packages? I talked to my server admin and they didn't know why this is occuring since we just started using 2008 R2. If it was a configuration he would be happy to change it so users in the 'Administrators' group can install .msi packages. I can install .exe packages, but for this setup package I only have the .msi file. Anyone know how to fix this or update the configuration?
October 6th, 2010 9:46am

check if you have uac on. (msconfig --> launch user access control something), turning it off will "fix" the issue. one can argue about uac on a server, though if you decide to turn it off you might want to read up on it so you know what security you turned off (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd446675(WS.10).aspx) alternative shift rightclick the msi file, it should offer something like "run as administrator"
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
October 6th, 2010 10:10am