Where do I find the password and username to log in to my ftp site from another PC
I'm a complete newbie to this sort of thing, and am startingschool onnetworking soon. So for now, I'm trying to get a rundown on "the basics". I really didn't want to come here for such a simple question, but I'veasked elsewhere and did google searches and either I'm not asking the right question, or nobody seems to know/care.Hereis the rundown on what I have done, perhaps you may find an error:1. Installed Windows Server 20082. Set Up a static IP address on the Server 2008 PC3. Port Forwarded my Netgear Router to Start port 20, end port 21 on the IP address of the Server 2008 PC4. Enabled Feature Wireless LAN Service (It is currently on wireless temporarily)5. Added role: Web Server IIS 6.0 6. Added FTP Site called Johnny, using the IP address for the PC (I also tried "use all unassigned), and selected "Do Not Isolate Users", and selected a folder on my desktop for the home directory. Everything is good so far, no errors.7. Right Click Johnny FTP Site, and selected startNow, on my spare PC, I typed in the Internet Port (not lan port) address of my router (Ex. 10.200.100.100), and I get This pop up box asking for username and password:This is where I'm stumped. I've typed in, under user name:IUSR_WIN-..... (The name of my 2008 Server PC), and just WIN-....., and tried the password for my Server 2008 Log-in, as well as several others with both user names. The box just keeps resetting back to empty spaces.I also tried logging in anonymously, and it gives me an e-mail address option, I tried the default address and for the heck of it I tried my current msn e-mail address (Like I said, I have tried EVERYTHING I can think of).I know this is easy to find, perhaps this step by step setup I just explained will help someone help me find out what I am doing wrong. Remember, this is my first FTP site, so I am a newbie at this.
August 17th, 2008 4:38pm