Unable to run commands on Windows 2003 SP2 server
Hi,I'm unable to run any of the commands through command prompt on one of my Windows 2003 SP2 server. Can any one please help me in resolving this issue..Thanks,sharath_bujji
February 1st, 2010 4:51pm

Hello what error message did you get? browse to C:\WINDOWS\system32\ and click on command.com see if this is successfulIsaac Oben MCITP:EA, MCSE
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 1st, 2010 5:30pm

do you have a right to run it, if not you can change user to run it, for example adminsitrator.
February 1st, 2010 5:38pm

Hi Isaac,The error is "Not Recognised as Internal/ External Command"..However if I get into C:\Windows\system32 and run the commands, it works fine....and have the appropriate rights to run the commands.Why is it not working when we goto Run->Cmd ? Please help me resolve this as everyone are getting the same error messages..Thanks,sharath_bujji
February 1st, 2010 5:58pm

I'm an administrator and have appropriate rights..
February 1st, 2010 5:58pm

Just to understand, does the cmd window opens up when you type Run-cmd? or you just get the error? You might have a corrupt short cut..try thisGo to start, Programs, Accessories and right click on command Prompt properties..what does the target location says?Also try run->%SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exeIsaac Oben MCITP:EA, MCSE
February 1st, 2010 6:11pm

Hi ,when you said " Please help me resolve this as everyone are getting the same error messages" you mean everyone else on other PC ?if so you would have configured a gpolicy / local policy to block run ( "prevent access to command prompt" ) or i have seen deployments where users were using 3rd party utilities to lock down the environment. Questions======Is this behavior happening to all computers in domain Is this behavior happening in work group Is this behavior happening to all logins
February 2nd, 2010 9:10am