Unable to remove Run As Account

Good Day,

I installed SCVMM 2012 Service Pack 1 (3.1.6018.0) using a mixture of my domain account and a service account specifically created to run SCVMM.  I recently changed my domain password and it keeps getting locked out.  I found that I had an old RunAs account in SCVMM, and I removed all the consumers it would show me.  Now I still cannot remove the account because of a message at the bottom of the Consumers window that displays:

! One or more consumer objects could not be retrieved because they exist outside of your scope.

Now I am the administrator of this machine and I'm a member of the Administrator role, so I'm really not sure what could exist outside of my scope.  How do I find it so that I can get to the point of removing my Run As account from SCVMM?

Thanks,

Joe

June 7th, 2013 5:42pm

Hey Joe - I actually see the same information message in my runas account. I'm going to investigate this weekend and see if I can come up with something.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
June 7th, 2013 6:36pm

Joe - Can you run the "Get-SCRunAsAccountConsumer" command and specify your runas account and see what comes back? Mine came back with an extra listing (in addition to the consumer list in the GUI) of an old service deployment that no longer exists. I'm thinking you may have something similar.
June 7th, 2013 6:59pm

Thanks Ted.  I get the following output:

Name              :
RunAsAccount      : Joe Star
ConsumerObject    :
ServerConnection  : Microsoft.SystemCenter.VirtualMachineManager.Remoting.ServerConnection
ID                : 54af8134-86d5-455a-8553-7dfb9433497e
IsViewOnly        : False
ObjectType        : RunAsAccountConsumer
MarkedForDeletion : False
IsFullyCached     : True

So it's a null or empty consumer?  This is the command I ran to get that:
get-scrunasaccount -name "Joe Star" | get-scrunasaccountconsumer

Thanks,
Joe

June 7th, 2013 7:16pm