Trying to rule out Firewall as the problem
Hello, I am fairly new to running Windows 2008, and the Advanced Firewall has been a source of frustration for me :-( I understand the reasons for the extra security, and I am trying to embrace it. I am just trying to get stuff to work in this "new" (ha) environment. The server I am having a problem with is Windows 2008 SP1 64 bit. (not R2). It runs Microsoft SQL Server 2008, and the SQL DBA is trying to access our SMTP relay to send herself alerts. This is ServerA. ServerB is Windows 2003 sp2, 32bit. It is running the standard Microsoft SMTP service. Other servers can access it just fine. When I ping ServerB from ServerA, it resolves the name in DNS, but it replies "Request timed out.". When I ping the other way, it works fine. When I ping ServerB from any other server, it also works fine. When I telnet from ServerA to ServerB by saying "telnet ServerB 25" I get "Could not open connection to the host, on port 25:Connection failed" When I telnet from my workstation to ServerB, I can do the HELO, and it responds with the Hello. So I am positive that the SMTP server it working just fine. There is no firewall on ServerB. The infuriating thing is if (from ServerA) I "net use * \\ServerB\c$", it works! The problem is protocol dependant! ICMP and SMTP are not working, but everything else seems to. We have IP based restrictions on our SMTP server (ServerB), and I have verified and reverified the IPs. It is set up to allow ServerA in. So it comes down to Firewall issue, or some kind of weird networking issue. I have tried creating rules on the firewall, that will allow port 25 traffic, I have created rules that will allow all traffic, each way, I have issued the following command : "netsh advfirewall set AllProfiles state off", which disables the firewall. When I first started troubleshooting, I noticed that the Windows Firewall service was completely disabled in Admin Tools/Services, and I renabled it, as Microsoft does not recomm