Tips for creating my first procedure

Hi there,

I'm new to SQLExp and have been writing some queries over the past few weeks on a database I'm developing.

I now want to assemble my queries into a procedure that I can schedule (which I understand has its challenges in Express but I'll work on that at a later date).

The queries I have are to do this;

- Bulk insert from txt files in temp table

- data adjustments

- integrity check

- insert into main table

At the minute I have these as 4 .sql files and not 100% clear on how to move this to a procedure. For e.g.

- Should I aim to consolidate my 4 .sql files into 1 or create a procedure that calls each of these. n.b. the 4 files need to be run in sequence

- Also, where will the procedure be stored? Inside the database it runs on or as a stand alone file like my .sql files

- Finally, since I have already written my sql is creating the procedure as simple as copy paste into the Management Studio or is there a better way?

thanks,

Bassmann

July 3rd, 2015 8:44pm

BULK INSERT TmpStList FROM 'c:\TxtFile1.txt' WITH (FIELDTERMINATOR = '","') is insert into table .

Refer     Try use SSIS will save your time.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 3rd, 2015 10:41pm

At the minute I have these as 4 .sql files and not 100% clear on how to move this to a procedure. For e.g.

1.- Should I aim to consolidate my 4 .sql files into 1 or create a procedure that calls each of these. n.b. the 4 files need to be run in sequence

2. - Also, where will the procedure be stored? Inside the database it runs on or as a stand alone file like my .sql files

3.- Finally, since I have already written my sql is creating the procedure as simple as copy paste into the Management Studio or is there a better way?

1. Yes that is what procedure does and is used for to combine various code blocks into one