The Start menu
I just started playing with Longhorn and if someone has already commented on this I aplogize. I went to logoff of the beta and disovered that there are 3 buttons now when I click Start. The first is a circle which doesa shutdown, a lock icon to lock the computer, and finally an arrow which expands to a menu where logoff is located. IMHO this is bad. On a server, the very first icon should be for logoff.If anything, shutdown should be harder to find so that some careless admin doesn't shut the system down. Yes, we've had it happen to the point where we use group policy to disable shutdown on certain servers. Will the Longhorn team please make that first icon be shutdown like it is on XP and Win2003. I know you guys like to play Where's Waldo with every new version, but some stuff really needs to remain consistent. Thanks, Dave.
June 14th, 2007 11:28pm

It's been so long that I forgot that we did this via group policy. We use "Add Logoff to the start menu" and on some servers "Remove and prevent access to the shutdown command". On my Longhorn server, I logged on as the local administrator and set the local group policyfor "Add logoff to the start menu" to enabled, and "Remove and prevent access to the shut down, restart, sleep, and hibernate commands" to enabled. Now when I click on startI have 2 icons, the lock and the arrow. The arrow menu expands to switch user, logoff, and lock. So it appears that "Add logoff to the start menu" is not doing what it did on prior Windows versions. Our intent here is have "Logoff" be the most prominent icon/option on servers. We do not want "Shutdown" to be the first option. We have too many application owners who require administrative access, and even when they get prompted for a shutdown reason, they still find a way to accidently shut down servers. Dear Longhorn team, please put "Logoff" back as the first option (icon) on the start menu.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now