Smart Cards in Windows 2008 - Getting started
Hi guys, I am brand new to working with smart cards and would like to implement them in my test network however the literature I have at my disposal only has a tiny paragraph about this topic. (Configuring Windows Server 2008 Active Directory - Page 757). Is there any place I can find detailed instructions on how to set this up from sctrach? I am also going to need to source cards and card readers. Are all cards and card readers generally the same? Do they tend to require their own drivers or is all that autodetected using USB? Any help would be much appreciated!
July 13th, 2010 5:33pm

Hello, First you need to define your requirements. For example, do you want to use the smart cards for more than network logon? Or digital signing only? Is your business required to use a Shared Service Provider or can you stand up your own PKI? How do you want to setup your Certificate Authorities? Do you want to use OCSP devices? There are some really good books that can describe much of what is needed, but you first need to define what you want to accomplish. There is a Microsoft Press Book written by Brian Komar which I think is something like Microsoft Windows 2003 Public Key Infrastructure. That book will surely provide the basics needed to get you going from scratch. Hopefully that helps some. MagikD
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 13th, 2010 7:25pm