Small office setup with windows 2008r2 HELP!
Hi All I am fairly new to this so please forgive my lack of knowledge and if I have posted this in the wrong place. Trying to set up a small office server and cannot for the life of me get AD DS, DNS and DHCP set up. I am wondering where I am going wrong as I am going round in circles with forwarders, IP addresses and so forth. Here goes. Network consists of a router connecting ISP, an 8 port switch and three client computers. I need the client computers to be able to access the internet, file share and use printer. No mail server or web server is required although web server may be a future consideration. The server has two double port network cards and is running 2008r2. I have been following the best practice tool and cannot seem to get rid of all the errors as I try to configure the DNS and DHCP. I have been using enumerable online sources for a solution. I have tried disabling DHCP on the router and tried various other work-a-rounds. Should I be using AD DS, DNS and DHCP? Is it my network set up? I know I am probably being a bit vague, but I can take this one step at a time I’m sure I can resolve my issues. Many thanks in advance for any help with this. James
June 10th, 2011 5:00pm