Setup LDAPS
I am trying to setup LDAPS in a 2008 domain following the KB321051. I take the cert to my production domain with a Root CA, and try to submit a request, it tells me ;"The request contains no certificate template information. 0x80094801(-2146875391) Denied by Policy Module 0x80094801, The request does notcontain a certificate template extension or the Certificate Template."If we add[RequestAttributes]CertificateTemplate = DomainControllerAuthenticationwe get:"The DNS name is unavailable and cannot be added to the Subject Alternatename. 0x8009480f (-214875377) Denied by Policy Module."If we addSAN="dns=[servername].edu"we get the same error again.I tried CERTUTIL -setreg policy\EditFlags +EDITF_ATTRIBUTESUBJECTALTNAME2and restarting the service, still no go.I am very new to certs, could someone help me out please :(blankmonkey
February 12th, 2010 11:40pm

I've been doing the same thing in a lab very recently as I wanted to issue a Domain Controller Authentication certificate to a domain controller in an untrusted forest. I came across the same article and struggled with the same error messages!After a bit of searching, I came across a blog post that pointed to this Microsoft article:http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc782583%28WS.10%29.aspxAfter using the script and following the notes, I managed to create and install a DC cert and successfully test the connection with LDP.You don't mention what OS your (Enterprise?) Root CA is running under. I have another lab with a 2K8 domain and 2K8 R2 CAs. To install a DC cert on the domain controllers, I just used the Certificates MMC snap-in focused on the Local Computer, right-clicked the Personal container and selected All Tasks / Request new certificate. The wizard takes you through selecting an Enterprise CA and a template that is published by the chosen CA.Steve G
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 13th, 2010 11:00am