Server 2008 running kind of slow.
I have an annoying issue withe one of my 2008 sp1 servers. I am currently testing this machine as aadmin desktop/hyper-v server/SCVMM/utilities file server.The machine is a Supermicro X7DB3 w/3U SM 733 chassiswithdual E5430 procs 32GB 667 3ware 9690SA 8i. adaptec 4000SAS ZCR. When I press clt-alt-del it takes between 3 to 5 seconds for it to bring up the lock computer screen. Also I do not know if this is relatedbut when I start RDP it takes the same amount of time to connect to the other machine. I do not mean for it to logon but just to bring up the logon screen. I am pretty sure it started to do this around the time I enabled the Hyper-v role. I wonder if anyone could help me find use tools to help figure out what might be the problem.Steps I have taken to troubleshoot so far:Looked for errors in the event viewer. NoneTried Procmon (I am very new to using this tool) and it does not seem to have errors but I do not know totaly what to look for!! I did find that my Vipre enterprise agent was slowing down my file access but I turned the agent off and the file access problem went away but the other issues remained.All windows updates are installed for all microsoft products.Thanks in advance for any help.
March 16th, 2009 6:18am

hi there,i would suggest you to check if the issue is occuring in safe mode as a testing to check if 3rd party services are interviening the winlogon.later if the issue is not occuring in safe mode then we can further narrow it down by disabling the 3rd party services and check if the issue occurs.chances=====a) might be because of 3rd party service / processb) microsoft update ( at times ) sainath Windows Driver Development
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
March 16th, 2009 7:37am