Server 2003 unable to remove POP3 service
Hey, just to start off please bare with me. I'm fairly new with Server 2003and I don't know exactly where everything is. My problem is uninstalling the POP3 Service on Server 2003.I've been trying to get it to work for ages, and can't. I'vefound a tutorial that seems to work so I am going to try to follow that. Here are my stepsfor uninstalling thePOP3 server.1. Press start then manage your server.2. Click "Add or remove a role"3. Select mail server, press next then check-off the "Remove the mail server role" then click next.4. Allow it to run and attempt to uninstall, instead I get this message:"Cannot CompleteThe configure your server wizard cannot finish removing the mail server role from this server because the POP3 service could not be removed. To remove the POP3 service, try running the Configure Your Server Wizard again, or use Add or Remove Programs."I've done both, although I cannot find anything in Add or Remove Programs. I look at the "Configure Your Server Log" and it states this:(7/20/2008 1:45:57 PM)Removal of Mail Server RolePOP3 could not be removed.To remove POP3, try running the Configure Your Server Wizard again.To remove POP3 manually, click Start, point to Control panel, and click Add or remove programs. Click Add/Remove Windows Components, click the box next to POP3, and click Next.Basically the same message. So, how do I remove this service so I can start again? Thanks for your help!
July 20th, 2008 8:51pm