Seeking for transactional replication setup and troubleshooting

Dear All,

I am new to mssql and I am about to setup a replication. I had setup one transactional replication successful. However, the developer said a table data missing from primary after I setup the transactional replication. I need some advice if the subscriber could make changes to publisher?

The primary/publisher database version is 

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (SP2) - 10.0.4000.0 (X64)  Copyright (c) 1988-2008 Microsoft Corporation Standard Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.1 <X64> (Build 7600: )

The standby/subscriber database version is 

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (SP2) - 10.0.4000.0 (X64)  Copyright (c) 1988-2008 Microsoft Corporation  Standard Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.1 <X64> (Build 7601: Service Pack 1)

May I know if anyway i could stop anyone make changes to subscriber (if subscriber could make changes and revert the changes and apply into primary/publisher)

I setup the replication based on the URL below:
http://www.sql-server-performance.com/2010/transactional-replication-2008-r2/

I need help here.

1. Did subscriber could make changes and affect the primary? (example delete tables and data)

2. How to prevent other access to make changes other than publisher system user?

3. Any license required for my standby/subscriber?

4. any patching required for my databases as both seems very outdated version?

5. anything i missing or did not raise up in above questions

September 3rd, 2015 8:56am

Find the answers to your questions below.

1. Did subscriber could make changes and affect the primary? (example delete tables and data)

As per your post and the article you shared, you have created a vanilla transactional replication. In such case no data changes that happens in the subscriber will be replicated to publisher. So publisher will not know of any changes in subscriber. Its a one-way replication from publisher to subscriber.