Script to Change DNS Servers on Remote Server

I am new to powershell and I am trying to construct a script to change the DNS servers settings on a whole list of machines remotely. I have the list of machines that I want to change in a txt file. I have read several posts on this and tried several different methods but I cannot seem to get it to work. Here is my code, any help is much appreciated.

$servers = Get-Content C:\PathToFile\computers.txt

foreach($server in $servers)

{

Write-Host "Connect to $server..."

$nics = Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -ComputerName $server -ErrorAction Inquire | Where{$_.IPEnabled -eq "TRUE"}

$newDNS = "10.1.1.1","10.2.2.2"

foreach($nic in $nics)

{

Write-Host "`tExisting DNS Servers " $nic.DNSServerSearchOrder

$x = $nic.SetDNSServerSearchOrder($newDNS)

if($x.ReturnValue -eq 0)

{

Write-Host "`tSuccessfully Changed DNS Servers on " $server

}

else

{

Write-Host "`tFailed to Change DNS Servers on " $server

}

}

}

February 12th, 2013 9:26pm

http://blogs.technet.com/b/heyscriptingguy/archive/2012/02/28/use-powershell-to-configure-static-ip-and-dns-settings.aspx

Ed Wilsons Blog.

$computer = Get-Content C:\PathToFile\computers.txt
$wmi = Get-WmiObject win32_networkadapterconfiguration  -computername "$computer" -filter "ipenabled = 'true'"
$wmi.SetDNSServerSearchOrder("10.0.0.15", "255.255.255.0")

I dont have the feasibility to check as of now. Please test and let me know.

Thanks
Azam

Mark As an Answer if it answered your question or helpful if helped.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 13th, 2013 4:10am

When entering the 'DNSServerSearchOrder' command I receive the following message:

Cannot find an overload for "SetDNSServerSearchOrder" and the argument count: "2".
At line:1 char:29
+ $wmi.SetDNSServerSearchOrder <<<< ("10.0.0.15", "255.255.255.0")
    + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [], MethodException