SSIS: How to load 2 different excel files to 2 different tables?

Hi All,

I'm new to SSIS. I have 2 different excel files file1 and file2. file1 should be loaded to table1 and file2 should be loaded to table2. Both of the files will have 1 sheet inside. Do I need to create separate excel source for file1 and file2? I mean file1 in one excel source and that will be connecting to 1 execute sql task. file2 in other excel source and that will be connecting to another execute sql task. Is this the way I should proceed or is there any looping should be done?  I need to schedule this activity to run every week. So, I'll get new files every week with the same file names and sheet names. Do I need to consider anything for this requirement also?

I'm planning to do truncate and reload not an incremental load.

Please help me on this. It would be great if you can give me a step by step solution for this since I'm new to this.

Regards,

Julie

July 29th, 2015 2:20am

It depends on the metadata (structure ) of the sheets. If both file sheets have same columns you can use a for each loop container with a single data flow task.  Otherwise you would need two separate data flow tasks for each file. In SSIS the metadata for a data flow cannot change during runtime and it will be fixed at design time when you map from source to destination component.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 29th, 2015 7:35am

Hi,

you can also use Script task,

http://www.codeproject.com/Questions/767979/How-to-import-multiple-excel-files-with-different

Regards,

Manish

July 29th, 2015 9:58am

Hi Julie,

According to your description, you want to truncate and reload data from two different excel sheet to two different tables, not an incremental load.