SQL Table Design Question.

I have a master table which would contain Price History for some entity.

An identity field as PK, a reference Id to that entity master record, and then the pricing, from and to date - which are easy to store.

I also need to keep a record of what "days of week" the price is active on, and also what "customer types" the price is for, and what "order types" it is valid for. Clearly I need to store a 1 to many relation for each record (for days of week, customer type, order type attributes).

What is the best design philosophy to implement this ?

August 20th, 2015 2:51pm

Hi SQLDev,

You highlighted 1-M relations, what are your entities and what are their attributes?

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 20th, 2015 3:41pm

One possibility is to store that type of data as XML columns in the price history table.
August 20th, 2015 4:28pm

>> I have a master table which would contain Price History for some entity. <<

The term Master is not part of RDBMS; it belongs to files and network data bases. 

>> An IDENTITY field [sic] as PK, a reference Id to that entity master [sic] record [sic], and then the pricing, from and to date which are easy to store. << 

IDENTITY is not a field, or even relational; it is a table property and we never use it as a PRIMARY KEY. It is an exposed physical locators, while a key is a subset of attributes of the entity. There is no such thing as a generic id in RDBMS. It has to be <something in particular>_id by ISO_11179 and L8 Meta data rules. 

If you would follow the forum rules and post DDL instead of begin vague and rude, we could help more. 

>> I also need to keep a record [sic: history would be a better term ] of what "days of week" the price is active on, and also what "customer types" the price is for, and what "order types" it is valid for. <<