SPLA & Virtual Desktops
My goal here is to get feedback from other experts regarding Microsoft's current policy on Licensing Windows 7 as a virtual guest under SPLA licensing. I am a consultant who encourages my small/medium business clients to seek out hosted remote office providers. In many cases, their core business applications do not work in Terminal server, Citrix, and PCoIP. There is a school of thought that virtually all of these problems can be overcome by modifications and workarounds, there are still some softwares that simply won't work. Also, sometimes the issue is not technical but rather licensing. In summary, many software vendors simply won't provide support or allow for their software inside these environments. This is indisputable. Nevertheless, many businesses that use "terminal unfriendly software" would still benefit immensely from a hosted virtual office solution. One obvious option is to create virtual machines running an OS and configuration supported by the software vendor. This is less elegant, and less efficient (resource wise) than a simple terminal server configuration, however it would be supported which is critical. It also carries several other advantages. The bottom line is that Microsoft currently allows for this with windows licensing if the company does it in house. However, it specifically forbids that such a solution be hosted by a third party, as third party hosts are restricted specifically to the SPLA terms for virtualization hosting which is documented here. http://download.microsoft.com/download/F/5/8/F58E786D-529D-438A-8625-4948205D8BA5/Windows_Hyper_V_Licensing_Whitepaper_v2_0.docx <quote> Scenario 5: Running Desktop Systems as Hyper-V Guests This scenario is currently not allowed under SPLA. </quote> Questions: Does anyone else see the value in the virtual desktop model? Does anyone else see the value in having it hosted by a third party? Can anyone think of a reason why they would outright deny this functionality like