SCOM 2012: Monitoring Process on Active Cluster Node Only

I am attempting to monitor a PeopleSoft process that is running on only the Active server in the cluster of 2 servers. The problem I am having that when I when I attempt to monitor the cluster for the process the process is checked on both computers in the cluster instead of just the active one.

Any ideas on how to isolate just the active computer?

Thanks, I'm a total noob at this SCOM stuff.

May 2nd, 2013 1:50am

please refer to this blog

http://thoughtsonopsmgr.blogspot.hk/2011/09/intelligent-service-monitoring-part-i.html

Hope this help you

Roger

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
May 2nd, 2013 5:26am

That example is for a "service" and I need to do a "process". I see the logic and the general idea is similar for both, however the entire check is based on the Automatic state of the service, which is not an option for a process that either running or not. Is there a guide out there for doing the same thing for a monitor?

I attempted to extrapolate the relevant data from the article and apply it to a monitor check, but the meat of the article is too in-directly related to be relevant.

May 2nd, 2013 6:36pm

I am still failing to locate a solution for this. This might be a simple learning point for me too. It's possible that I missing something completely elementary and i more than willing to go learn whatever it is that I need to learn. A nudge in the right direction would be really appreciated.
May 10th, 2013 8:21pm

Hi Adam,

Does this helps: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/operationsmanagerauthoring/thread/406449cb-5cf5-4ad4-90d5-bda2766b396b  ?

May 10th, 2013 9:04pm

Alex,