Robocopy - ERROR : You do not have the Manage Auditing user right.
I'm trying to copy files between servers in different domains, while retaining ntfs permissions. The souce and destination are in different domains, but there is a trust in place. Source is WinXP based NAS device. Destination is windows 2008 server. I'm executing the command on the win2k8 box. I'm an domain admin on both machines. I keep getting this error: ERROR : You do not have the Manage Auditing user right. How do I give myself this "Manage Auditing" user right? U:\>robocopy \\dellnas1\users\fumstead \\lanpa\mad\home\fumstead /e /copyall ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ROBOCOPY :: Robust File Copy for Windows ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Started : Thu Jan 29 12:54:43 2009 Source : \\dellnas1\users\fumstead\ Dest : \\lanpa\mad\home\fumstead\ Files : *.* Options : *.* /S /E /COPYALL /R:1000000 /W:30 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ERROR : You do not have the Manage Auditing user right.***** You need this to copy auditing information (/COPY:U or /COPYALL). Simple Usage :: ROBOCOPY source destination /MIR source :: Source Directory (drive:\path or \\server\share\path). destination :: Destination Dir (drive:\path or \\server\share\path). /MIR :: Mirror a complete directory tree. For more usage information run ROBOCOPY /? **** /MIR can DELETE files as well as copy them ! If I exclude the auditing I get this error: 2009/01/29 11:33:05 ERROR 1307 (0x0000051B) Copying NTFS Security to DestinationFile \\dellnas1\users\fumstead\WINDOWS\Msflxgrd.ocxThis security ID may not be assigned as the owner of this object. What's it mean?
January 29th, 2009 9:08pm