Problem with open ports in Windows Firewall
Hello everyone! I'm basically new in managing Windows 2008 Server R2. I'm trying to open a port for a specific application in Windows Firewall (in domain group policies), so I create an "inbound rule" allowing traffic to the specific port. The problem is that the connection is not working. I disabled the firewall, I turn down the antivirus, and the connection is somehow blocked. When I run netstat -an and add the filter to show the "listening" ports, the port that I opened before in the inbound rules is not appearing. I tried with other ports and the results are the same. Any idea of what could be the problem? Thanks in advance!
June 15th, 2011 1:29pm

Use tcpview from Sysinternal/Microsoft to view the process that have open ports. Verify the process in question actually has the port open. If not fix the process configuration/installation as needed.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
June 15th, 2011 8:44pm