Powershell Parsing Question

I am very new to Powershell and was wondering if someone could help me out with parsing the following command as well as provide an explanation regarding the logic..

$BranchNumber = "2.14Main"
$MajorVersion =  $BranchNumber.Split('.')[0] 
$MinorVersion = $BranchNumber.Split('.')[1] 
$PatchVersion = $BranchNumber.Split('.')[2]
$HotfixVersion = $BranchNumber.Split('.')[3]

Write-Host $MajorVersion $MinorVersion $PatchVersion $HotfixVersion

The Write-Host that I am looking for needs to be the following.

2 14 0 0

September 14th, 2015 5:32pm

There is nothing to explain.  Write--Host outputs the list.

The splits do nothing.

("2.14Main").Split('.')

That is all you get.

Start here to get some background on what you are doing: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/dd793612.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 14th, 2015 5:42pm

I am very new to Powershell and was wondering if someone could help me out with parsing the following command as well as provide an explanation regarding the logic..

2 14 0 0

Why do you think that code should do what you want?

Here is a line by line explanation of that code:

Give variable BranchNumber the value of string "2.14Main"

Give variable MajorVersion the value of the first element of the array resulting from the String.Split method using the character . as a delimiter ( '2' is that value )

Give variable MinorVersion the value of the second element of the array resulting from the String.Split method using the character . as a delimiter ( '12Main' is that value )

Give variable PatchVersion the value of the third element of the array resulting from the String.Split method using the character . as a delimiter (there is no third element. so the value of PatchVersion is set to the empty string)