Powershell - Help with regex

Greetings,

I have no experience in working with regex, so I need a hand to accomplish the following.

I have a file with the following information:

"name","whencreated","distinguishedname"
"Rune Olsson","2012-07-24 16:00:04","CN=Rune Olsson,OU=Bork,OU=viking,DC=viking,DC=local"
"Arne Petersson","2006-12-27 15:09:08","CN=Arne Petersson,OU=Nangijala,OU=viking,DC=viking,DC=local"
"Tengil Rosendal","2007-02-08 08:29:39","CN=Tengil Rosendal,OU=Birka,OU=viking,DC=viking,DC=local"

What I want is to "rip out" the OU were the user is located, so this is how I want to be like:

"Rune Olsson","2012-07-24 16:00:04","Bork"
"Arne Petersson","2006-12-27 15:09:08","Nangijala"
"Tengil Rosendal","2007-02-08 08:29:39","Birka"

I would really apreciate an regex (or another solution) on how to get it like that.

Thanks in advance!

January 16th, 2014 6:59am

I wouldn't do this entirely with regex. You have a CSV file, so start with the Import-Csv cmdlet and limit your string parsing to just manipulating what's in the distinguishedName field. For example:

$inputFile = '.\test.csv'
$outputFile = '.\output.csv'

Import-Csv -Path $inputFile |
ForEach-Object {
    $OU = ''

if ($_.DistinguishedName -match 'OU=([^,]+)')
    {
        $OU = $matches[1]
    }

New-Object psobject -Property @{
        Name = $_.Name
        WhenCreated = $_.WhenCreated
        OU = $OU
    }
} |
Export-Csv -Path $outputFile -NoTypeInformation

I used regex only to strip out the first instance of "OU=<Something>" from the distinguishedName string; the rest of the code just works based on Import-Csv / Export-Csv and objects.

• Marked as answer by smekfis 21 hours 47 minutes ago
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
January 16th, 2014 8:04am

I wouldn't do this entirely with regex. You have a CSV file, so start with the Import-Csv cmdlet and limit your string parsing to just manipulating what's in the distinguishedName field. For example: