PowerShell Write-Host Help

Hello,

I am new to PS and I am writing some simple scripts and need help. Once each item is successful I would like it to write- host -ForegroundColor Green or Red if it failed. I am sure this is simple, just looking for some help.

#######################################################
# Disable NetBIOS over TCP/IP
$nic = Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -filter "ipenabled = 'true'"
$nic.SetTcpipNetbios(2)

# Uncheck "Register this connection's addressed in DNS
(Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapter -Filter "NetEnabled=True").GetRelated('Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration').SetDynamicDNSRegistration($false,$false)

# Set WinRM to Automatic
Set-Service -Name WinRM -StartupType Automatic -Status Running

# Nightly Reboot Task (Change Path to XML)
schtasks.exe /Create /XML "C:Base Build Files\Task\Nightly_Reboot.xml" /tn "Nightly Reboot"

# Disable IPv6
netsh interface ipv6 set global randomizeidentifiers=disabled

March 20th, 2015 6:45pm

You have to check the error variable to see if an error has happened or use try/catch.

help error

help about_try_catch

March 20th, 2015 7:06pm

Hi Garrett,

you can do this by using try/catch. Here's an example:

try
{
	$nic = Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -filter "ipenabled = 'true'"
	$nic.SetTcpipNetbios(2)
	Write-Host "Successfully disabled NetBIOS over TCP/IP" -ForegroundColor 'DarkGreen'
}
catch
{
	Write-Host "Failed to disable NetBIOS over TCP/IP: $($_.Exception.Message)" -ForegroundColor 'Red'
}

On the other hand, is Write-Host really the best way to report on operation success? Here's an example on how you can build a custom result object that shows you success or failure for each step. It can easily be stored in a variable or exported to file (csv, xml, etc.).

try
{
	$nic.SetTcpipNetbios(2)
	$DoNB = $true
}
catch
{
	$DoNB = $false
}

# Uncheck "Register this connection's addressed in DNS
try
{