PowerShell 2.0 & Modules

I have a scenario where I want/need to

• Modularize my code, so that bits and pieces can be updated easily over time.
  • Store those bits and pieces on a network and access them using UNC paths
  • Execute the main script a number of ways: SCCM with arguments, shortcut's with arguments and Windows Run from the registry. The former two as an Administrator, the latter as a user.
  • Have a hash table of global scope that is populated by a Function in a module, and used by a function in another module.
  • Use PowerShell 2.0, as my customer base is almost exclusively in Windows 7, and very resistant to installing newer versions of PowerShell.

As I started learning PS I verified that I could indeed Load a module from a UNC path, but the code I tested did not include Functions in that module. Now as I progress I am running into problems, specifically that my function call "not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program."

So, I am wondering if I am barking up the wrong tree and I either need a newer version, or dot referencing is the only option, or...? My hope is all of this is possible and I am just shagging the code a bit.

Crossed fingers someone can verify the above is all possible, or offer an alternative solution.

Thanks!
Gordon

January 28th, 2014 11:25am

As long as the Import-Module command is successful, it shouldn't matter what is in the module itself. If it exports functions, you should have those functions available in your PowerShell session.