Phantom process?
Hello all.I have audit running for a user's home folder. Once in awhile, audit would log events of activity where the user traverse the directories, access files, and does ReadData. This is happening even when the actual user isn't doing anything. This activity appears to occur only to this user's account. The Process ID for the event is 4 which I believe is owned by SYSTEM.The folder is served by the DC. So, is there a service process in the DC that traverse directories and does reads? If so, why is it only on this account? And why is it only on certain files(not all)?I'm new to Windows servers and its processes so I apologize in advance if I didn't word things out correctly.Any suggestion or advice is much appreciated... :)jav
April 15th, 2010 3:39am

Hi ,When you say Folder is served by DC is this a shared folder ? that users access which is hosted on DC ?If so how have you enabled the auditing ?,have you enabled auditing through Group policy using the policy below ?Computer Configuration/Windows Settings/Security Settings/File Systemif you have mentioned the domain users , then user who logs into the system would have the privilige to traverse the folders. Also paste the event id for further understanding.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
April 15th, 2010 6:36am