PaaS vs IaaS - typical scenarios - critique?

To illustrate to project stakeholders and help them appreciate the difference between a typical PaaS scenario and IaaS scenario, I have drawn these two diagrams:

PaaS - typical scenario

PaaS - typical scenario

IaaS - typical scenario

IaaS - typical scenario

The intent was to show how the PaaS hosting must make a commitment by recoding to the platform Azure, while IaaS is portable.

Can you let me know if you find anything off or not right? I am relatively new to Azure and something here may be incorrect.

thanks in advance.

September 14th, 2015 9:59am

You got it right on your own :)

Key difference would be what you have under control (and price).

PaaS model you have very little influence over settings. You can change few things but if you may have to change code to adjust to invironment.

In IaaS model you have control over everything from OS level and up. You can change almost everything so you can change environment to setting you want (or have now) for your app.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 14th, 2015 1:33pm

Hi,

The illustrations are pretty good, They definitely outline the Portability advantage of IAAS over PAAS, mainly because of runtime difference between PAAS and On-Prem setup, you will be needing to recode your application in-terms of diagnostics, multi-tenancy and storage access.
 FYI, also refer the below excellent article on the differences between IAAS and PAAS.
 http://blogs.msdn.com/b/hanuk/archive/2013/12/03/which-windows-azure-cloud-architecture-paas-or-iaas.aspx

I would also suggest you take a look at the Azure App Service - Web Apps if you haven't yet, It is another Excellent Service which is a fully Managed Platform for professional developers that brings a rich set of capabilities to web, mobile and integration scenarios. Quickly create and deploy mission critical web apps that scale with your business.