Ops Man missed a low alert, until the disk hit zero

We lost a server over the weekend, when a local application problem crammed the system disk. The server is being monitored by Ops Man 2012 R2, and we got an email alert when the disk hit 0% free, but nothing up until then.

Referring to the screencaps below, it looks like Ops Man was getting performance data from the system, and knew the disk space was low. The override thresholds for the system disk are set to warn at 5,000 MB free and error at 3,000 MB free, but the state change event clearly shows the monitor as healthy, right up until it hit 0. (First graph shows % disk free, second shows free MB)

I'm new to Ops Man, but I'm pretty sure I've dug into this thoroughly.  What am I missing?  Is there any way to know why the alert didn't trigger?  

May 19th, 2015 4:34pm

What is the logical disk size percentage configured for?

Both the megabytes and percentage threshold must be breached before an alert will be triggered.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
May 20th, 2015 12:40am

By default, Windows XXX Logical disk free space Monitor will trigger alert when both HD free disk space in MB and % of HD free disk space fall below threshold.

Roger

May 20th, 2015 2:18am

Well I tried to find the percentage for you, but I don't see an override for it, so I was about to say it should be using the default (10% Warn, 5% Error)...

However while digging around, I found the XML for that monitor.  Now the % numbers in the XML are what I expected to see, but look at the Warning/Error MBytes.  Looks like 500 MB Warn and 300 MB Error.  This is where I have to please some Ops Man ignorance, but if the override is configured to warn at 5000 and error at 3000, why does the XML show up like it does?