Office not responding when using open or save-as
I'm not a computer expert, but I will try to explain the symptoms. We bought a server with 2008 R2 Standard a couple months ago. Our terminals connect with RDP. The problem is with Excel and Word 2007. It's been happening since the beginning. Sometimes (about 10% of the time) when we use open or save-as excel/word will freeze on the file browser window. Task manager says not responding. The only thing we can do is end task, we tried waiting 30 minutes already. If we go to My Computer and double click on the file, it will open fine. If we use save instead of save-as, it will save fine. The problem is that for some of our users, going to my computer to open, make a copy of a file, rename, move to another folder, etc would be too complicated. They need to use open and save-as. Is this a common problem? Could you help me troubleshoot? What could be the cause? Let me know if you need more information.
July 28th, 2010 3:43am