Novice Question: How to set up Win2008 Networking
Hello Friends I am new to networking and I am basically trying to set up a File, Print Server (and a small database very soon) for my home/office network of 2 PCs nd 2 Laptops (all Win7). In a month's time we will add 5 more PCs (fat client) / use nComputing VDI solution (which will access the accounting software from the SERVER) The Server Hardware is Dual Core Intel E5300 with 4 GB of RAM, 2 HDD (160GB-OS; 1TB-Data), 1 NIC (10/100), Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard The Current Network Setup is as follows- ADSL Modem - Linksys 802.11g Router #1 on 3rd Floor (DHCP enabled) >>connected by wire to Linksys 802.11g Router on Floor#1 (DHCP disbled) >>> which is physically connected to the PCs and the Server (all new PCS to be installed will be in this floor only) Please let me know if I need a static IP on the Server (I have xtra NIC lying around) and why ? I can currently access the Server anytime by Using The Computer name (\\Server in this case) and using RDP from the Win7 machines If I need Static IP how do I configure the network then ? 1. What Services do I need to enable on the Server 2. How do I physically design the network then? 3. I have laptops / Cell Phones on both the 3rd and 1st floor, can they access the internet when the Server is OFF (if static IP will mean disabling the DHCP on the Router # 1 on 3rd floor ? ) Thank you for your patience nd I apologize if this question is too vague / not meant for this forum
June 27th, 2010 1:58pm