Need some advice for small business
Hey everyone,My name is Andy and I own a small business. We get the small business package from microsoft so we get a license for home server, server 2008, win xp, vista, 7, etc. But we've never really fully utilized them. As we are growing, I'm attempting to consolidate things into a more professional style setup instead of just a bunch of home PCs. But I'm not totally up on my lingo. I see a post telling me where I can go to get how tos for lots of stuff, but I don't even know which to read. I'm a programmer, not a sys admin, so I'm asking you experts out there!here is our situation:2 desktops that are built into custom equipment that go out to the field. These each have one system drive and one drive dedicated to critical data. These are running XP. 3 workstations, one at my house, two at another location, mine is running XP, his are running vista and 71 laptop running vista (soon to be 7 though)And I'm building a computer to be our server. This computer is a very fast quad core i7, 12GB ram, etc. Way overkill for most server purposes, i know, but hang on.The first and most important thing is our critical data. It is gathered on one of the workstations at the other house and put in certain folders. Then it is manually synchronized using synchron X or something to the two field PCs. The two field PCs go out without network connectivity when they go, and they make some small edits to some files, come back, and eventually are synchronized back as well. Also we manually make a backup on an external drive that is partitioned in sucha way that it would be easy to install XP fresh, our application and replace the drive in one of the field PCs should they fail.So I really want to have my documents and everything available on any of the workstations. I believe this is a "roaming profile". So I need active directory I think. However, is it possible to make a roaming profile, but if the server is down or off or I'm out of network, still b