Need help importing a CSV file using IMPORT-CSV commandlet

Hello:

I am fairly new to Windows Powershell and need some help. I want to import a CSV file using the import-csv commandlet but getting some name errors because of the csv file header not containing quotation marks. I could manually add new header names in using the -header option but I want to script this.

I thought about importing the first line of the CSV file to some sort of array and then doing a replace to add the quotation marks in to each row name. Would get-content achieve this?

An example would be this:

name, address, phone number, school

converted to

"name", "address", "phone number", "school"

I'd want to be able to import the entire CSV file, cut the first row and do the change. Then pipe those results to import-csv commandlet. Any help would be much appreciated.

I am downloading this CSV file from a website that does not put the quotation marks on the header row.

July 10th, 2013 1:43am

By far the easiest means is to indeed use the -header parameter in Import-Csv with the help of the single and double-quotes as follows:

Import-Csv .\my.csv -Header '"name"', '"address"', '"phone"', '"number"', '"school"'

Please share with us if this helps. Thanks.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 10th, 2013 2:51am

HI:

That would work, but I am trying to do this in a more automated way. The names of the columns are already in the CSV file. I just need to add quotation marks to the top Headers to make it in the right format to pipe into import-csv. The reason I want to automate this is that if those header names change it will not break the script and save a lot of manual revising because I have to go in and rename the headers using the -header option.

July 10th, 2013 1:38pm