Need User with Admin Rights in Trusted Domains

I am a programmer trying to cover a network position and setting up remote backup solutions.  Had basic networking about 20 years ago but this is far above my training.  The provider of the backup solution told me it was easy to setup their product for remote backup but neglected to say we needed someone with a lot of network experience dealing with multiple domains.  I could use some professional network advice from someone in the forum.

Basically, the software needed us to create a trust between two domains so they could openly communicate and transfer files.

I've been reading Technet for over a month now and I have established two way trust between my domains.  I built an ID in both domains with domain admin rights and the same password.  I can telnet all the ports required from either domain to the other and I can ping fully qualified and short names from either side.  From each server, I can see the opposite domain as an option for login.  All of this leads me to believe I am good as far as the trusts and firewall but it still doesn't work with the software.

This appears to be the issue holding me back but I am not sure:

Local Domain is DomainA.com  Remote Domain is DomainB.com  User ID is TestUser

Servers on both ends are Win 2003 64bit.  I will add that the server on my end part of a dual domain environment.  We had a primary domain that was also web (mycompany.com for domain and web presence) which caused a conflict with trust. I made my local server its own unique domain so I could establish trusts without conflicts.  Could not think of another way to do it.

From DomainB, I can log into the server (that is on DomainB) with TestUser using the selected domain of DomainA.com. I can also do the reverse from DomainA to DomainB